OBSCURA Stream Entire New Album ‘Akroasis’ via Guitar World

Today, after teasing numerous songs from their their highly anticipated new album Akróasis (Greek for “hearing” or “listening”), German progressive metal masters OBSCURA are finally streaming the complete album via Guitar World HERE.
OBSCURA are streaming a music video from Akróasis for the album’s title track via the Relapse Records YouTube Channel HERE.
Produced by the band and V. Santura (Triptykon, Pestilence), Akróasis is eight songs diverse enough to serve as a near-comprehensive introduction to all of extreme metal. Packed to the gills with virtuosic musicianship, compelling themes, and airtight songwriting, Akróasis will undoubtedly breathe new life into death metal, progressive metal and beyond.
Akróasis will be released February 5, 2016 via Relapse Records.  The album will be available in CD, 2xLP and Digital download.  Physical pre-orders for Akróasis are available HERE and digital pre-orders can be found HERE.
Additionally, OBSCURA will provide direct support in Europe for Death DTA on the “European Thought Patterns” tour.  The tour kicks off March 30th in Rome, Italy and runs through April 13th in Tallinn, Estonia.
***All Dates March 30 – April 13 with Death DTA***
March 30              Rome, IT             Traffic
April 1                  Athens, GR           Fuzz Live Music Club
April 2                  Thessaloniki, GR   Principal Theater
April 3                  Sofia, BU              Mixtape 5
April 4                  Bucharest, RO      TY Events Hall
April 5                  Belgrade, RS         Dom Omladine
April 6                  Budapest, HU        Barba Negra
April 7                  Brno, CZ              Fleda
April 8                  Kosice, SK           Collosseum
April 9                  Katowice, PL        Mega Club
April 10                Wroclaw, PL        Alibi
April 12                Riga, LV               Melna Piektdiena
April 13                Tallinn, EE            Club Tapper
OBSCURA has also been confirmed for numerous festivals next summer, including the following dates and more TBA:
July 24 Tel Aviv, IL Gagarin
July 24 – 30 Tolmin, SI Metal Days Festival
Aug 17 – 20 Dinkelsbuhl, DE Summerbreeze Festival
Aug 21 Brittany, FR Motocultor Festival

Akróasis Track Listing:
1. Sermon of the Seven Suns 
2. The Monist
3. Akróasis 
4. Ten Sepiroth
5. Ode to the Sun
6. Fractal Dimension 
7. Perpetual Infinity
8. Weltseele
9. Melos (Deluxe Vinyl Bonus Track)
10. The Origin of Primal Expression (CD Bonus Track)
More About OBSCURA:
Founded in 2002 by guitarist/vocalist Steffen Kummerer, German progressive death metal band OBSCURA caused a stir when they – out of nowhere – toured as support for the legendary Suffocation on the band’s European tour in 2006 and independently released their debut album Retribution that same year. From its very beginnings, the band (named after Gorguts’ inimitable 1993 full-length) demonstrated an uncanny ability for blending different forms of technical, cerebral metal into a coherent synthesis of death, thrash and black metal merged with progressive elements.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *