Prog-Rock Group SOEN Reveals Music Video for Introspective Track “Lucidity”

SOEN – the heavy progressive rock group featuring world-renowned drummer Martin Lopez (formerly of Amon Amarth and Opeth) and the dynamic voice of Joel Ekelöf (Willowtree) – will release their upcoming full-length opus Lykaia on February 3, 2017 via UDR Music. After initially introducing the album to fans with the charging, groovy first single “Sectarian“, SOEN are returning to showcase another side of their sound by premiering the smooth, downtempo prog-rock track “Lucidity”. Listen to “Lucidity” and read commentary from Martin Lopez now, exclusively via Billboard:  
Lopez tells Billboard,“This song represents a time in my life when I unconsciously walked towards self-destruction and celebrates, to an extent, the death of that lifestyle and the birth of a new era. It’s dark but comforting. The music is soft and dreamy but carries the tension of a past-life full of mistakes.”
Hear more commentary from Martin Lopez regarding the musical direction of SOEN via the band’s exclusive video interview series with MetalSucks. In this week’s edition, Lopez discusses venturing out into new musical projects and also details the story behind the band’s new track “Opal”, which you can hear a sample of in the background. Check out week one here, and come back each Thursday through the release of Lykaia to hear further commentary from other members of the band.
Lykaia is a journey into earthy, emotional places, and is SOEN‘smost cohesive, powerful and congruent creative quest yet. For those who have followed the band’s career thus far, the new album’s concepts of journey and exploration are not new. 2012’s Cognitive beat a firmly heavy, progressive metal path. 2014’s Tellurian – with its Pink Floyd explorative spirit and Opeth-like forceful power – saw SOEN start to stride freely into their own control and unique visions. Lykaia sees SOEN remain fascinated with the shadows and the darker edges of our world, with a particular focus on the various thoughts and concepts behind religion and ritualistic, belief-based behaviour in society.
Lykaia pre-orders are now available in three formats – digitally, audio CD in digisleeve, and gatefold vinyl. Order now and receive “Sectarian” and “Lucidity” as immediate downloads.
“Sectarian” instant grat:

Recorded at Ghost Ward, StudioGröndal and Deep Well in Stockholm, Sweden, with production duties handled by guitarist Marcus Jidell and mixing by Stefan Boman, SOEN kept things as far away from the digital age as possible on Lykaia, embracing warmth and organic recordings as the drive behind the technical working process.

If the first two albums were harder, more technical, angular and perhaps cerebral pieces which demanded sharp focus, Lykaia presents a warmer, rounder, flesh and blood on the bones approach that allows listeners a dual entry to the eight tracks presented. The journey is no less dynamic, continuing the underscore of complex melodies with crushing power and no fear of walking proudly into more ambient spaces to explore the temperature. With Lykaia, however, it is clear that SOEN have never felt more congruent or sure of themselves.
Lykaia Track listing:
1 – Sectarian   
2 – Orison         
3 – Lucidity       
4 – Opal             
5 – Jinn              
6 – Sister           
7 – Stray            
8 – Paragon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *