RIGOR MORTIS Debut Second Song From Slaves to the Grave on Decibel Magazine’s “Deciblog”

Available October 7th on Rigor Mortis Records

Twenty-Three years after their last record, and nineteen months after the tragic loss of guitarist Mike Scaccia, DFW TX Speed/Thrash Metal pioneers, RIGOR MORTIS, will release their fourth and final studio album – Slaves to the Grave (Due October 7th via Rigor Mortis Records). This marks the bands first studio album in 23 years, and the first with the classic original line up (Mike Scaccia – guitar, Casey Orr – Bass, Bruce Corbitt – Vocals, and Harden Harrison on drums), since their 1988 eponymous debut album.

Slaves to the Grave is available for pre-order HERE.

So far one song from Slaves to the Grave has been released, the song “Flesh for Flies” it can be streamed HERE.

Today RIGOR MORTIS presents the second offering from their final masterpiece.  Decibel Magazine’s Deciblog” is hosting an exclusive premiere of the song “Poltergeist”.  Get a first listen to “Poltergeist” HERE.

With help from their fans, via an IndieGoGo fundraising campaign, the band is releasing Slaves To The Grave themselves on their own label, Rigor Mortis Records. EVERYONE who contributes to the fundraiser will have their name included in a special “thank you” list on the cd! The campaign ends on Aug. 28th, so there’s only a few days left to help out, get your name on the cd, and pick up some killer swag, including a limited run blood splattered vinyl version of the record with alternate cover art, and an exclusive Mike Scaccia tribute t-shirt.

You can contribute here: IndieGoGo.

Two special shows in support of the album have been announced including a CD Release Party and an appearance at the Housecore Horror Film Fest. The surviving members of Rigor Mortis will be performing as Wizards of Gore at both events.


Saturday Sept 27th – Curtain Club- Dallas, TX

Featuring Dead Horse, Wizards of Gore (RIGOR MORTIS), Dead Earth Politics, and more tba. The new RIGOR MORTIS record will be available for purchase at this show.



Oct. 23rd – 26th – Emo’s – Austin, TX

The second annual event boasts underground and classic horror screenings and merch, full reunion of cast from the original Texas Chainsaw Massacre 1 and 2, as well as a great line up of bands like Superjoint Ritual, GWAR, Danzig, Samhain, Wizards Of Gore (RIGOR MORTIS), Warbeast, Portal, Randy Blythe, Satyricon, Eyehategod, Cattle Decapitation, Unearth, Acid Witch, and many more

Recorded less than a year before Mike’s passing, Slaves To The Grave was to going to herald the band’s long overdue comeback. In February 2012, RIGOR MORTIS entered 13th Planet Studios in El Paso, and recorded the 10 tracks that would become STTG. The artwork was done Michael Broom

The subject matter hasn’t strayed much. Twisted tales of horror and woe, monsters and madmen, warfare and plague abound! The tracks are fast and heavy as one would expect, but there is also a maturity and growth that only comes with age and experience. Musically, STTG draws from a legacy of brutal influence. The Speed and Thrash Metal that RIGOR MORTIS cut their teeth on is evident throughout the record in the intensity and velocity of tracks like “Flesh For Flies“, but also, one could argue, are influences such as Italian horror soundtracks by Goblin, as heard on the outro solo of “Poltergeist“. While STTG was very much a group effort, and all four came together like a fist to crush all doubt, It has to be said, of course, that the highlight of this record, and indeed RIGOR MORTIS as a whole musically, is Mike Scacciaʼs incredible guitar playing. His freakish speed picking and beautiful sense of melody is mesmerizing. His solos are stupefying. Mike’s style was much closer to Paganini, than to say, Mustaine or Dimebag. He was unique.

Without question, this record contains some of Mike’s finest work. In his zone and with no restraints, he delivered some absolutely stellar performances. His solo at the end of “Blood Bath”, for instance, is absolutely breathtaking, exposing more heart and soul than precious few of his contemporaries possess. RIGOR MORTIS dedicates this record to Mike Scaccia 1965-2012.

Slaves to the Grave Track Listing:

1. Poltergeist 

2. Rain of Ruin 

3. Flesh for Flies 

4.The Infected 

5. Blood Bath 

6. Ancient Horror 

7. Fragrance of Corpse 

8. Curse of the Draugr 

9. Sacramentum Gladiatorum 

10. Ludus Magnus 


Produced by Mike Scaccia and RIGOR MORTIS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *