Turbo Rules – In Memoriam

John “Turbo” Shatesky

01/25/1980 – 07/28/2023

Rising Progressive Metal Quintet BINARY CODE Streaming New Track ‘Dark Meditation’

Album Art: Bangalore artist Acid Toad
New Jersey/New York-based progressive metal group BINARY CODE will release their long-awaited, powerful new full-length offering Moonsblood on May 24. You can pre-order Moonsblood now via the band’s Bandcamp page – the first 50 pre-orders will receive a special signed poster featuring the album art image above.
In the past month, BINARY CODE has dropped two new tracks, “Immersion” and “Moonsblood”, in anticipation of the new album’s release. Making up for lost time since their buzzed about 2009 release Suspension of Disbelief, the band is sharing a third new track, “Dark Meditation”. Listen now via Loudwire‘s weekly New Music Showcase feature: http://loudwire.com/new-music-showcase-exclusive-premieres-binary-code-letters-from-the-fire-rival-city-heights/
Guitarist Jesse Zuretti states, “”Dark Meditation” is a song that I oddly enough wrote shortly following my first time doing DMT, and starting Transcendental Meditation. I’m not a hippie by any means, nor am I a psychonaut, but I am a firm believer in expanding perspective. The instrumentation in Dark Meditation is a perfect representation of an expansion of perspective, which I think is something you can’t push to happen; it happens naturally, and it happens when it happens. I was in a very dark state of mind, having dealt with a crippling bout of depression and my experience with this mental expansion lead me to a breaking point where I could finally be comfortable with the person I was becoming. This transposed greatly from perspective into the music I started to write. Many of the people who are familiar with our music have said to me that they are surprised by the transition the band has made, but there’s also a familiarity with it. I attribute that much to being responsible for the majority of the songwriting during the time where I made it passed an event horizon.”
Engineered and mixed by Eyal Levi (August Burns Red, The Contortionist, Monuments) at Audiohammer Studios and mastered by Alan Douches (Suicide Silence, Dillinger Escape Plan, Converge) at West West Side Music, the members of BINARY CODE poured everything they had into delivering an album that would ultimately be a game-changer. Moonsblood features new vocalist Oded Weinstock and promises to offer up a completely different sound from what fans might previously expect from the band. Heavy, melodic and progressive, yet focused and tightly written, Moonsblood boasts powerful vocal hooks, huge, thundering riffs, gorgeous atmospheric tapestries and impressively technical musicianship and songwriting.
Moonsblood track listing:
1. Immersion
2. Trees 100ft Underwater
3. Dark Meditations
4. Moonsblood
5. Knell
6. Push
7. Cetacean
8. 707
9. Unexist
BINARY CODE will support Moonsblood with rigorous touring, to be announced. But first, the band will perform on June 15th at Dingbatz in Clifton, NJ, where they will play Moonsblood in its entirety. Tickets are available from the venue.


Justen Bieber