Technical Prog Metal Group PAINTED IN EXILE to Release Long-Awaited Album “The Ordeal” on October 28, 2016

After unquestionably solidifying themselves as a band-to-watch in the technical progressive metal scene with 2008’s 3.14 demo and 2009’s Revitalized EP – the latter of which called, “a creative fireball of attention-grabbing music,” and touted as “mind-blowing” – fans have been eagerly awaiting a full-fledged comeback. After dropping a track here (specifically 2014’s “DM”) and a hint there for the last few years, PAINTED IN EXILE are officially back with their brand new, first full-length album, The Ordeal, set for release on October 28, 2016.


Pre-orders are available for The Ordeal now via Featuring the band’s signature progressive sound that further melds classic rock, jazz, classical and even hip-hop influences, The Ordeal transcends far beyond what PAINTED IN EXILE has released to date, fully showcasing the band’s gifted and refreshed line-up.


PAINTED IN EXILE followers and hungry, unsuspecting prog fans won’t have to wait long to hear new music – Metal Injection is currently hosting a music video for the new track “House of Cards”, cut from The Ordeal and directed by Tom Flynn. The cinematic video, which is reminiscent of an intense action film, can be viewed here:


The Ordeal was produced, recorded, mixed and mastered by Jamie King, who is recognized for his work with bands such as Between the Buried And Me, The Contortionist, Scale The Summit and other modern progressive metal mainstays. The album was recorded at both Basement Recording Studios in Winston-Salem, NC and The Fidelitorium in Kernersville, NC. Orchestral arrangements on the album were written by Alan Hankers. Additional production and engineering support was provided by PAINTED IN EXILE guitarist Ivan Chopik.


Producer Jamie King states, “This record is a truly great prog rock/metal record. And I’m not just saying that because I was hired to record it. I’m honored to have been a part of it. It will be revered as a classic!”


PAINTED IN EXILE guitarist Ivan Chopik adds, “The ingredients for The Ordeal had been brewing for several years, so we went into the recording process with a specific vision of what we wanted the record to sound like. When the opportunity came up to have Jamie King produce and engineer, it was a resounding ‘Yes’. He’d already worked on some of our favorite albums, so we knew the sonics would be on point. Beyond that, he gave us the environment to stay creative in the studio and pushed us to get our best, real performances. His vision and experience was integral to shaping The Ordeal.”


The Ordeal track listing:
    1.  House Of Cards
    2. Welcome (One And Come All)
    3. The Bazaar
    4.  Jupiter
    5. Transition Wow
    6. DM
    7. Not For Nothin’
    8. Like A Memory
    9. These People
    10.  My Keeper


The Ordeal was fully crowd-funded due to massive fan support via Indiegogo campaign (the band actually surpassed their goal of $15,000).


PAINTED IN EXILE are currently on their first U.S. tour with headliners Scar Symmetry and fellow special guests Arsis and Shattered Sun. See below for all currently confirmed tour dates featuring PAINTED IN EXILE.


Remaining PAINTED IN EXILE Tour Dates with Scar Symmetry, Arsis and Shattered Sun:
9/16/16 Columbus, OH – Al Rosa Villa
9/17/16 Valparaiso, IN – Big Shots
9/18/16 Kansas City, MO – The Riot Room
9/19/16 Fort Worth, TX – Rail Club
9/20/16 Austin, TX – Dirty Dog Bar


Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.