Turbo Rules – In Memoriam

John “Turbo” Shatesky

01/25/1980 – 07/28/2023

VEXES Reveals Guitar Playthrough Video for “Helion”

Groove-infused experimental post-rock/metal outfit VEXES have been turning heads in the heavy rock and metal communities with their buzzworthy upcoming debut, Ancient Geometry, out February 23, 2018. Today, after releasing three intense new tracks – “Lift“, “Plasticine“, and “Helion” – the band is switching it up by releasing a guitar playthrough video for “Helion”, featuring guitarist John Klagholz. Watch the video now via Guitar World.

Klagholz tells Guitar World: “We produced and engineered this record ourselves, which fortunately allowed us to really take our time and find the tones we wanted… For the playthrough, I used my custom Balaguer Growler Baritone in 27″ scale with a single volume control and a built-in kill switch, made by Joe Balaguer at Balaguer Guitars. It’s an excellent company from Pennsylvania for which I am proud to be an endorsee… I couldn’t be happier with the guitar.”

“Helion” is in steady rotation now on Sirius XM Liquid Metal and even reached the Devil’s Dozen countdown in its first week on air! Fans can let Sirius XM know what they think of the track by tweeting support and tagging @SXMLiquidMetal on Twitter, or leaving comments on the Sirius XM Liquid Metal Facebook page.

VEXES‘ new album, Ancient Geometry, is available for digital pre-order via iTunes, Amazon, Google Play, and Bandcamp (some with instant grats of released singles), and in physical format via Big Cartel with other merch options here. You can also stream tracks via Spotify here.

New Jersey-based VEXES featuring frontman Charlie Berezansky (ex-Downstage and Vessl), guitarist John Klagholz (ex-Fury of Five and Vessl), drummer Justin Graves (ex-A Life Once Lost), and bassist Bobby Carpenter (ex-A Life Once Lost) – came together after Klagholz and Berezansky‘s previous band, Vessl, called it quits. The two were interested in starting a heavier project to filter some different ideas into. After finally completing their demos, they sent them to a few respected musician contacts of theirs, and within a few weeks, heard back from drummer Justin Graves. Graves was impressed with the tracks and hinted at wanting to join the band. Soon after, they recruited Bobby Carpenter to play bass.

Ancient Geometry was engineered and mixed by frontman Charlie Berezansky at Skywire Sound Studios in West Creek, NJ, and mastered by Mike Kalajian (The Dear Hunter, Saosin, Emmure) at Rogue Planet Mastering. Combining gripping alt-metal atmosphere and experimental post-rock inspiration with a healthy dose of post-hardcore undertones, VEXES breathe new life into this genre set to deliver something fresh and instantly absorbing. Even more masterful – the members of VEXES visit entirely new musical realms in comparison to those explored by the bands that moulded them, completely avoiding pronounced reflections of their seasoned pasts.
Ancient Geometry track listing:
1. Helion
2. Lift  
3. Decisions Are Death Here
4. Plasticine
5. No Color (feat. Mikey Carvajal of Islander)
6. Terra
7. Lush
8. Meridian Response
9. Photochrom
10. Ancient Geometry

Justen Bieber